Hawks Honored at 2019 CRC Student-Athlete Awards Night

Hawks Honored at 2019 CRC Student-Athlete Awards Night

SACRAMENTO, CA - On Monday night, the Cosumnes River College Athletic Department hosted its annual banquet at the Falls Event Center in Elk Grove, celebrating the completion of yet another successful academic year for the Hawks.  

Over 270 student-athletes, coaches, staff, and Cosumnes River supporters attended the 2018-2019 Athletics Awards Banquet commemorating eye-opening performances and accomplishments, both on the field and in the classroom.

Highlights Included:

  • 2.81 Overall Student-Athlete GPA
  • 4 CCCAA Playoff Appearances
  • 8 Individual sport athletes qualifying for state championships
  • 20 Big 8 All-Conference Athletes
  • 1 Big 8 Conference MVP
  • 55 Scholar-Athletes
  • 32 4 Year-Transfers
  • 1 All-Nor Cal Athlete
  • 1 All-State Athlete
  • 1 All-American

 The evening began with introductory remarks from Collin Pregliasco, Dean of Kinesiology, Health, and Athletics and Athletic Director, who addressed the crowd and recognized the tremendous achievements from throughout the year. 

The awards started by celebrating the academic success of the student-athletes.  55 student-athletes were recognized as scholar-athletes of which 9 student-athletes had a 4.0 GPA and another 16 had over a 3.5 GPA.  5 fall and winter sport athletes were honored as Big 8 Scholar Athletes as well as 10 team MVPs and 9 Spirit of the Hawk awards were given out. 

Pregliasco also stated his continued amazement with the commitment and dedication of the student-athletes at Cosumnes River College.  He stated that CRC will continue to ensure that all student-athletes are given the best foundation to be successful with increased resources for athletic counseling, academic coaching, and tutoring.  

 Special Athletic Department Awards:

Athlete of the Year – Burle Dixon, Baseball

Most Valuable Female Athlete – Brookelyn Larkin, Women's Basketball

Most Valuable Male Athlete - Burle Dixon, Baseball

Hawk of the Year – Sam Cota, Men's Basketball

Highest Female Grade-Point-Average – Brookelyn Larkin, Women's Basketball

Highest Male Grade-Point Average –JD Mico, Baseball

Jerry Conway Award – Alex Crouch



Steve Krisiak Scholarship:

JD Mico, Baseball

Brookelyn Larkin, Women's Basketball

James Clark Memorial Scholarship

Brookelyn Larkin, Women's Basketball

Excellence in Athletics Scholarship

JD Mico, Baseball

Brookelyn Larkin, Women's Basketball


Team Most Valuable Player Awards

Women's Volleyball - Rebekkah McLaughlin

Men's Soccer – Lincoln Carvalho

Women's Soccer – Bailey Bradford

Men's Basketball – Marcus Robinson

Women's Basketball - Brookelyn Larkin

Men's Tennis – Kien Dang

Women's Tennis – Hannah Dinkins

Women's Swimming – Emily Kline

Baseball - Burle Dixon

Softball – Hannah Steege


Spirit of the Hawk Awards

Women's Volleyball – Abby Hicks

Men's Soccer – Francisco Comparan

Women's Soccer – Alexis Brown

Men's Basketball – Samuel Cota

Women's Basketball – Lexi Liddell

Women's Tennis - Hannah Dinkins

Women's Swimming – Natalie Nino-Garcia

Baseball – Jeremy Kolb

Softball – Courtney Lozano