Men's Soccer vs. Feather River College

Hawks Honored at 2018 CRC Student-Athlete Awards Night

Hawks Honored at 2018 CRC Student-Athlete Awards Night

SACRAMENTO, CA - On Monday night, the Cosumnes River College Athletic Department hosted its annual banquet at the Falls Event Center in Elk Grove, celebrating the completion of yet another successful academic year for the Hawks.  

Over 200 student-athletes, coaches, staff, and Cosumnes River supporters attended the 2017-2018 Athletics Awards Banquet commemorating eye-opening performances and accomplishments, both on the field and in the classroom.

Highlights Included:

  • Christine Jang CCCAA Hall of Fame Induction
  • Jeanne Calamar named CCCAA Athletic Director of the Year
  • 2.83 Overall Student-Athlete GPA
  • 3 CCCAA Playoff Appearances
  • 33 Big 8 All-Conference Athletes
  • 43 Scholar-Athletes
  • 37 4 Year-Transfers
  • 2 All-Nor Cal Athletes
  • 1 All-State Athlete

The evening began with introductory remarks from Collin Pregliasco, Dean of Kinesiology, Health, and Athletics and Athletic Director, who addressed the crowd and recognized the tremendous achievements from throughout the year.  Special recognitions were given to Christine "Tanaka" Jang who was inducted into the 2018 California Community College Athletic Association's (CCCAA) Sports Hall of Fame.  Christine was the State All-Around Champion in gymnastics in 1977 and 1979 and is currently the head of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Kaiser - South Sacramento.  Jeanne Calamar was also recognized for receiving the CCCAA Athletic Director of the Year award from her peers.  The award recognizes Calamar for the service and leadership she has given to Cosumnes River College, its athletes, and the surrounding community. 

Pregliasco also stated his continued amazement with the commitment and dedication of the student-athletes at Cosumnes River College and will continue to ensure that all student-athletes are given the needed resources to be successful both athletically and academically in the years to come.


Special Athletic Department Awards:

Athlete of the Year - Korina Krueg, Softball

Most Valuable Female Athlete - Korina Krueg, Softball

Most Valuable Male Athlete - Burle Dixon, Baseball

Hawk of the Year - Jared Alameida, Baseball

Highest Female Grade-Point-Average - Amanda Lopez, Women's Soccer

Highest Male Grade-Point Average -Timothy Tarrant, Baseball



Steve Krisiak Scholarship:

Daniel Vitoria, Baseball

Ashleigh Berg, Softball

James Clark Memorial Scholarship

Rita Monasterio, Swimming

Excellence in Athletics Scholarship

Ashleigh Berg, Softball

Autumn Petteway, Swimming

Rita Monasterio, Swimming

Taylor Thomas, Women's Soccer

Daniel Vitoria, Baseball


Team Most Valuable Player Awards

Women's Volleyball - Rebekkah McLaughlin

Men's Soccer - Hector "Keko" Grajeda

Women's Soccer - Yvonne Taylor

Men's Basketball - De'Rajaee Austin

Women's Basketball - Brookelyn Larkin

Men's Tennis - James Cruze

Women's Tennis - Angela Hurtado

Women's Swimming - Lorena Rettele

Baseball - Burle Dixon

Softball - Korina Krueg


Spirit of the Hawk Awards

Women's Volleyball - Meg Maddalena

Men's Soccer - Dylan Mello

Women's Soccer - Taylor Thomas

Men's Basketball - John Brooks

Women's Basketball - Erika Oswald

Women's Tennis - Hannah Dinkins

Women's Swimming - Kaeryn Cruz

Baseball - Jared Alameida

Softball - Ashleigh Berg


Honoring our Own:

Tony Bloomfield

747-433-2 career record

27 years as CCCAA Head Baseball Coach

2012 CCCAA State Championship

2012 National Coach of the Year

9 time Conference Coach of the Year

9 Conference Championships

25 State Playoff Appearances

9 Super Regionals

2 Final Fours

"Developing good husbands, fathers, and men..."